Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Now Playing
Listen Live

WEGL wins two ABBY Awards

AUBURN, Ala.—On Saturday, March 18, the Alabama Broadcasters Association celebrated the 17th annual "Alabama's Best in Broadcasting", also know as the ABBY Awards. The ceremony was held at The Club in Birmingham, with over 300 radio and television broadcasters from stations across the state. 

In competition with some of the best professional radio stations across the state, WEGL took home two awards this year. 

For the third time in his WEGL career, Aidan Kowalski earned the Judges Award of Merit as a Small Market Sportscaster for his work as one of WEGL's top play-by-play broadcasters. His work broadcasting Auburn Volleyball this past season resulted in the award.

Along with Aidan, current station manager Luke Walker and his successor Adrian Rushing earned the award for Small Market Radio Station Promotion for their work on the "Christmas Block PSA". WEGL worked last semester to create a daily, hour-long block of Christmas music to air during December, and Walker and Rushing worked to create an advertisement for the block, which aired on the station during the same time.

The judging for the awards took place in February, with 12 radio and television professionals from around the state reviewing the entries over a two day period. The panelist's reviews resulted in the ABBY Awards and Judges' Awards of Merit and the full list can be seen here.

Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2024 WEGLFM